sc 140 N.P.P.N.E.N.S.J. Day Two

DAY TWO: An account of Christmas Eve at the Smellie’s.  Toppie makes his mother almost cry…  Late lasagna…  Chocolate bark… And a sick dog!

Please write to Toppie at smellcast@aol.com. Leave a comment on Toppie’s blog TheSmellcast.com. Friend Toppie Smellie on Facebook. Be on Toppie’s show by connecting with Toppie on Skype (smellcast) 10pm to 10:30 PM EST. (USA) Mon thru Sunday (for the month of January ONLY!)!

Click the link below to listen to the Smellcast, episode 140.

The Smellcast/Episode 140

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “sc 140 N.P.P.N.E.N.S.J. Day Two”

  1. HatM Says:

    You shall respect anybody cooking lasagna for you! Even if they take hours to prepare it, or it takes hours to heaten up. What kind of oven do you have to be waiting such a long time? Or what quantity were you trying to heat?

    Like

    • toppiesmellie Says:

      *** hanging head in shame *** You’re right Hatem. I screwed up. It was two pans of lasagna and they were cold having just come out of the fridge (they had been assembled the day before). If I didn’t say it on the podcast… they were absolutely delicious.

      Like

  2. Kalvin Says:

    Hi Toppie,

    As a somewhat recent ex-smoker, I think it is just one day at a time. Your every day podcasting sounds like a great way to sort of create some sort of accountability. I think the first time I quit was more difficult than the most recent stint. I suppose it’s a work in progress!

    I think the interaction you describe with your mother is quite understandable. My partner and I just had our mothers here for about 10 days, and I almost lost it many times. And you seem to be doing it continuously. I think it’s just part of being human, but I guess part of that is the reconciliation process as well.

    The dog/chocolate experience sounds like something that would have almost pushed me over the edge. I think where you described almost running out of minutes while not being able to find the clinic would have been the worst. What an enormous amount of stress that must have been!

    As regards the lasagna, I’m not surprised in the least that it would take more than 30 minutes to heat up. Personally, I haven’t made a lasagna in years. I am rather fond of the Stouffer’s “Italiano” version with real ricotta though. It really is such an enormous labor. A friend made lasagna for us about 9 months ago, and we watched as he rolled out each noodle. I get a little overboard with trying to control each element so I simply have to rule it over complex and stay away.

    I’m enjoying the NPPNENSJ posts as I started listening to your podcast in early December, and they were all stories. Good luck with the quitting smoking!

    Like

    • toppiesmellie Says:

      Kalvin, thanks so much for the detailed comment — it’s much appreciated. Hah! I can’t imagine having two moms for ten days! You and your partner must have been plumb worn out! Glad you are enjoying NPPNENSJ. Although the Smellcast has always been about story telling in one form or another, I have been enjoying going back to the show’s roots. I’m doing my best to take the “no smoking” thing one day at a time. Although I have slipped, I’m not giving up. Thanks again for taking the time to comment. I would love to talk to you sometime about your involvement in podcasting.

      Like

Lay it on me bay-bee...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers