Episode 10: Fear Rules

Toppie reveals In this intimate chit chat that he became aware of his own mortality at the age of three.  From that time  forward, whether it was mother nature in the form of lightning and floods or more mundane issues such as the Vietnam war, fear ruled his life.

As if real life fears weren’t enough, young Toppie became obsessed with threats of the absurd kind from space aliens to the terrifying Big Foot, a creature he knew lurked in the dark woods just outside his house, waiting… waiting…

Later, when he was twenty years old and finally becoming a sexually active young adult, fear continued to rule Toppie’s life in the form of the just then emerging threat of HIV and AIDS.

Click the link below to listen to The Smellcast, episode 10

Smellcast/Episode 10

Also, Toppie just got an e-mail address. Please send your mail to smellcast@aol.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Episode 10: Fear Rules”

  1. Jay Y Says:

    Loved this episode, especially with the mention of Bigfoot. The mystery has always fascinated me, but I had the experience of seeing a movie as a kid (The Mysterious Monsters), and it freaked me out afterwards. It was a documentary in the style of In Search Of.. and had a scene where a couple is in their living room and you see a large shadow go by the picture window. At some point they open the front door, and Bigfoot is right there!!!!! LOL. Let’s just say that in the years following, there were many times that I couldn’t go into our basement without turning on all the lights (and we lived in suburbia).

    On a more serious note, I recall losing classmates in elementary school to leukemia, and one of my best friends to bone cancer in high school, so I did sort of develop a fear of cancer as a youngster. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • toppiesmellie Says:

      You’re welcome Jay — and thanks for commenting!

      Hah! I simply have to get my hands on a copy of it! As I recall it was made by a company that was popular for a brief time in the ’70’s called Sun Classic Pictures — makers of the “Wilderness family” and “Grizzly Adams” and “Chariots of the Gods.” There was another Big Foot movie from that time period (that I have also never seen, and want to very much) and that was called “The Legend of Boggy Creek.” My best chum saw it and he was spooked out for weeks!

      Big Foot!! Brrrrrr!

      Like

  2. Jay Y Says:

    Toppie-
    You are correct. It was a Sun Classic Picture. You can find it on ebay. I purchased a copy a couple years ago. Or if you want, I can grab you one next time I see it at a horror convention. I’ve seen Boggy Creek as well, but not until I was older and it didn’t have the same effect on me.

    You know what’s creepy? If you search online, you can find some supposed recordings of Bigfoot. Just picture yourself in the woods at night and hearing that shit!

    Like

    • toppiesmellie Says:

      Cool. You go to horror conventions. You’re my kinda guy! I have heard some of the recordings that are said to be of Big foot — probably on Youtube — and it is pretty thrilling. Thrilling in the safety of my little hidey hole that is. You and I have to hook up for a Skype conversation! Want to be on my lil’ show (even if the answer is no, we STILL need to hook up for a skype conversation!)? 😉

      Like

  3. Jay Y Says:

    Are you kidding? You’ve attained near mythic podcast celebrity for me! I’d love to be on the show. Yup- I do both sci-fi and horror cons, although I’m not sure I’d consider myself hardcore. Let me know whenever you have free time. Even if I’m “away” on Skype, try me anyway (Hauntcub1). Ta!

    Like

Lay it on me bay-bee...

