sc 321 Vignettes

sc episode 321

Today on the Smellcast: Little Vignettes… scenes from the past two weeks.  Please to enjoy.  “It’s still twitching…”  HARRR! Poor lil’ spider…

frog pond

Here’s my new-found swampy-frog pond place near my hidey-hole apartment.

Write to Toppie at Smellcast@aol.com. Leave a comment right here on Toppie’s blog. Friend Toppie on Facebook and follow him on Twitter and Google+. Look at kooky stuff on smellcast.tumblr.com.

LEFT click HERE to LISTEN to episode 321 on your computer NOW.

RIGHT click HERE to Direct Download episode 321.

the tree

This is the old tree I rather heroically felled in a rather butch fashion.

 

the spider

The spider with which I was in a life and death struggle!

parent's crab apple tree

The crab apple trees in front of my parental unit’s home.

Please to subscribe! It’s free! Go to iTunes Preview.

Rss feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/TheSmellcast

The Smellcast is a member of the Rainbow Pod Squad Network.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “sc 321 Vignettes”

  1. kathyBacon Says:

    hello. I am usually afraid of any living creatures that aren’t humans and something.when I was in the right thank you google and that didn’t come out right let me start over. I am usually afraid of any living creatures that aren’t humans and some humans 2. I was just wondering seriously all of this just to ask when the tree started bawling over did you say timber?

    Like

    • Toppie Smellie Says:

      LOL! I was too startled to yell “timber” at the actual moment the tree fell. But in all honesty when I was editing it all together I was sorely tempted to put in the sound effect of someone yelling it! 😀

      Like

  2. amycoles Says:

    HOLY MOLY! I would have had a heart attack if I ran into the thing.. . That spider has to be the scariest thing I’ve ever seen. Yuck Yuck Yuckity Yuck!

    Like

    • Toppie Smellie Says:

      You said it Amy!!!!!! I respond to them so viscerally I can’t help but loathe and fear them. ESPECIALLY when they are in my hidey-hole apartment. ESPECIALLY when I know damn well there are more of them lurking in here (it’s a basement apartment). But intellectually I appreciate them and I love watching them (from a safe distance) making their webs. I SHOULD try to capture them and release them to the out-of-doors. But the primal part of me just wants to kill it!

      Like

  3. Kathybacon Says:

    That spider looks like the size of the palm of my hand….yuk! Oh!

    Like

  4. amycoles Says:

    When I found that scorpion outside I researched how to kill those little buggers.. Yeah you can’t. No chemicals will kill them. I continued to read on in this article how “helpful” they are because they kill black widows (which I’ve seen here) and cockroaches. Now I can’t decide which it worse! Maybe next time I’ll grow some balls and snap a pic of the scorpions! From far away… With my long range zoom lens….

    Think 30 feet is a safe distance?

    Like

    • Toppie Smellie Says:

      Get a better zoom lens and make it 75 feet! 😀

      Y’know… prior to global warming New York was free of many many deadly creatures. Like f’rinstance… rattle snakes. Or scorpions. Or black widow spiders. Anyways… I’m pretty sure I recently read that there are alligators on Long Island… and I guess they’re surviving the winter, although I don’t see how. I am now leaning towards living in Alaska.

      Like

Lay it on me bay-bee...

